buy antibiotics without prescription
Guild of Greeters   Suitable for Every Age   

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Myst For Pocket Pc Problems, wont start
Joseph
post Jan 27 2007, 05:14 PM
Post #1


Uru Explorer
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 170
Joined: 13-April 05
From: WV
Member No.: 3,472



I got a Ipaq for Christmas(w00t) and naturally the first thing I wanted to get was Myst for PPC!
Its a compaq ipaq 3955 with Windows Mobile 2002 (it also said Windows CE 3.0, I don't know if those two are different)it has an Intel PXA250 ( i think 400 mhz) and I have a 1 gig stick in it.

I got Myst on the device sucessfully(as pMyst.exe, i had to copy it manually) and it was the correct file size, so I know nothing was missing. When I tapped on it though, it said " Cannot find pMyst. Make sure filename is correct and all required libraries are available"

down.gif angry.gif verymad.gif

any ideas? Im not that experienced with PDAs yet...


--------------------
...the more hope you bring to a new beginning...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post Jan 27 2007, 07:40 PM
Post #2


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



Well after a quick Google, I did find THIS, which may possibly help you. Not sure if this is how you installed it or not.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joseph
post Jan 28 2007, 09:54 AM
Post #3


Uru Explorer
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 170
Joined: 13-April 05
From: WV
Member No.: 3,472



It says "pMyst.exe is not a valid Win32 application"


--------------------
...the more hope you bring to a new beginning...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post Jan 28 2007, 04:07 PM
Post #4


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



The download in the link above is a demo, maybe try downloading that and try installing it to see if it works. If it does, it could be possible that even though the file you have is the correct size, it may have been corrupted somehow.

Unfortunately, I do not have a PDA to try this with, so I can only offer suggestions.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joseph
post Jan 29 2007, 03:15 PM
Post #5


Uru Explorer
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 170
Joined: 13-April 05
From: WV
Member No.: 3,472



QUOTE (kurtg1265 @ Jan 28 2007, 04:07 PM) *
Unfortunately, I do not have a PDA to try this with, so I can only offer suggestions.

yeah, i did buy it used, and there isn't an overwhelming amount of tech support. I'm just trying to learn as I go.

I did try to download a myst "demo" once and it just turned out to be a series of screenshots with music. Ripoff!

(although a description of the real game would not sound too different! smile.gif )


--------------------
...the more hope you bring to a new beginning...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joseph
post Feb 1 2007, 07:37 AM
Post #6


Uru Explorer
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 170
Joined: 13-April 05
From: WV
Member No.: 3,472



...i think it has something to do with...
I found out that .exe files can only be installed to the PDA from the PC, the files that can be installed actually on the PDA are .cab files.

SO I tried converting the exe file to a cab file. Still no luck. Some vierd compatability issue.


--------------------
...the more hope you bring to a new beginning...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post Feb 1 2007, 08:25 PM
Post #7


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



Yes, according to the link above, you install it by running the .exe file on your computer while your PDA is also connected to the computer.

If you are using XP on your compy, you may want to try changing the windows compatibility option on the install file to say 98 or even 95 and see if it helps. Just in case, right click and select properties then click on the compatibility tab.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
H'astin
post Feb 15 2007, 12:23 AM
Post #8


Uru Fan
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 80
Joined: 15-August 04
From: Apple Valley, CA
Member No.: 2,590



Joesph, first install ActiveSync on your desktop PC.

Then, after Activesync is installed, run the EXE on your desktop. With your Pocket PC connected, it will prompt for an install. Then, you can choose to install it to the Storage Card, or the Main Device.


--------------------
-Hastin Zylstra
Uru Live KI: 00176129
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2019 - 08:33 AM