buy antibiotics without prescription
Guild of Greeters   Suitable for Every Age   

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Myst Revelation Need Help, I can't see the gears in spire's spider chair, parts missing
tigerhumboldt1
post May 24 2006, 08:57 AM
Post #1


Uru Visitor
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-March 05
Member No.: 3,431



Ok, what is going on with my game! I've not only deleted and re-installed the game, but I've installed the 1.02 patch. I tried the 1.03 patch but can't get it to install, but don't think that will solve the problem.

Schatzee

Tanning myself with the light of the monitor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cleft
post May 24 2006, 09:16 AM
Post #2


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 1,114
Joined: 20-December 03
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 358



Shorah tigerhumboldt1 and welcome to the Guild of Greeters smile.gif

What kind of video card are you using?
You could try and update you videocard drivers by going to the website of the manufactuer and see if that helps.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
L'lee
post May 24 2006, 09:17 AM
Post #3


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Guild Master (GM)
Posts: 4,374
Joined: 12-February 04
From: DFW Metroplex, Texas
Member No.: 1,084



Sounds like a video driver issue. Could you please post your system specs for reference point?


--------------------
When asked if my cup is half-full or half-empty my response is,
"I am thankful that I have a cup!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tigerhumboldt1
post May 24 2006, 03:58 PM
Post #4


Uru Visitor
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-March 05
Member No.: 3,431



Windows 98 SE (build 4.10.2222)
ASUS A7N8X-E REV 2.xx
1000 megahertz AMD Athlon
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
256 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A7N8X-E REV 2.xx
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe ACPI BIOS Rev 1012 08/04/2004
80.03 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
52.11 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

Creative SB Audigy
NVIDIA® nForce™ Audio Codec Interface
NVIDIA® nForce™ MCP Audio Processing Unit
Wave Device for Voice Modem

Is this enough? I've also installed the updated drivers for my system, including creative and NVIDIA.

Schatzee

Just tanning myself by the light of my monitor:)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CAGrayWolf
post May 25 2006, 12:37 PM
Post #5


The Wolfmeister
Group Icon

Group: Retired Greeter
Posts: 6,076
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Riverside CA USA
Member No.: 35



QUOTE
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
256 kilobyte secondary memory cache


Are you sure this is kilobyte and not megabyte? shock.gif If I'm reading this correctly ... I'm amazed you were even able to install the game in the fist place.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
L'lee
post May 25 2006, 01:47 PM
Post #6


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Guild Master (GM)
Posts: 4,374
Joined: 12-February 04
From: DFW Metroplex, Texas
Member No.: 1,084



As this is a relatively "new" board, I would think it would *have* to be Megabytes rather than Kilobytes... but still, 256Mb is "recommended" to run the game. Linky to MoBo specs

Not quite sure what the "secondary memory cache board" means, but if it means what I think it does, that won't help you with your problem. What I am reading from your posted specs is that you have the minimum required RAM to run the game (128Mb), but at the minimums, the graphics will not be optimized, even for your "up to date" machine.

It might be that you need to post your dxdiag.txt file (inside a spoiler tag, please) for those who are more hardware-savvy than I to interpret the actual problem.

Also, for the record, the list of supported video cards at time of release of Revelation is:
  • ATI® Radeon™ 7000 to 9800 or better
  • NVIDIA® GeForce™ 1/2/3/4/FX families (note: no mention of NForce)
  • Matrox Parhelia™ (PC only)
  • Intel® i865G to i915G (PC only)


--------------------
When asked if my cup is half-full or half-empty my response is,
"I am thankful that I have a cup!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dadguy
post May 25 2006, 04:06 PM
Post #7


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 1,000
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Wilmington, DE
Member No.: 28



Tiger,

Let's make sure we understand the problem. Maybe you are not actually all the way down to the gears, which you get to by opening a small square flip-up panel and pressing a blue button under it.

Then, when you are facing the three gears, there is a handle that makes the cursor change when you put your cursor over it. You click-drag the handle down causing the gear position to change. You want position 4, 3, 7 going left to right.

Can you let us know if you have gotten that far?

Thanks,

Dadguy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post May 25 2006, 08:46 PM
Post #8


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



QUOTE (CAGrayWolf @ May 25 2006, 10:37 AM) *
QUOTE
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
256 kilobyte secondary memory cache


Are you sure this is kilobyte and not megabyte? shock.gif If I'm reading this correctly ... I'm amazed you were even able to install the game in the fist place.


Actually that is correct. That isnt for his graphics though, its built into the CPU to help while processing.

The graphics arent listed at all, so I would assume they are onboard graphics, built into the board. Also the amount of system memory isnt listed, and that would be helpful to know as well.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th November 2019 - 12:59 PM