buy antibiotics without prescription
Guild of Greeters   Suitable for Every Age   

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Resettable Age?, Completed age by mistake/bug
darth_this
post Jun 14 2006, 02:29 PM
Post #1


Uru Visitor
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 15
Joined: 25-January 04
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 806



Hi there,
When testing a symbol on the slate the game mistaked it as the final symbol of that age. Suddenly I could link to the final point and Echer told me I had completed the age.
It seemed a bit abrupt to me, so I checked a walkthrough: The age (Todelmer) wasn't nearly finished.

So, what now? Is there any way to reset a single age like in Uru, or do I have to replay the whole game?

Thanks in advance
/DT, Stockholm, Sweden


--------------------
There's no such thing as a final frontier
/LR, Stockholm, Sweden
Click here for the big picture
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dadguy
post Jun 14 2006, 04:37 PM
Post #2


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 1,000
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Wilmington, DE
Member No.: 28



I think that has happened to a number of players.

The Myst V save system uses two types of saves.

1. AutoSave - This is a save location that records the current progress of what you have completed

2. Manual Saves - These are done by clicking the Camera Icon at a certain location to save the progress there.

EDIT: There is no formal reset button for resetting an Age. Here's what to do:

To "Reset" the Age, the easiest way is to load a manual save from a point before you accidentally guessed the final slate symbol. You could go way back to a save from the previous Age (hopefully the latest save from that Age), or if you save often, maybe you have an earlier save from THIS Age from before you guessed the symbol, and can continue from there.

In any case, you have to make sure that after loading the previous save that you complete everything again up till where you were before guessing the symbol.

Once you load the previous save, that AutoSave that had you prematurely at the end of the Age will be overwritten with what you load.

Hope that's not too confusing. confused1.gif

Dadguy

This post has been edited by dadguy: Jun 14 2006, 04:39 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UruBoo
post Jun 15 2006, 07:45 AM
Post #3


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 1,663
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Novo Hamburgo, Brazil
Member No.: 61



Unfortunatly, if you never used the "manual" save option and just played and let the game save the game for you, then you have to replay from the beginning headbang.gif .

Next time, before touching or drawing something in the game, you better save manually your progress smile.gif .


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darth_this
post Jun 15 2006, 12:47 PM
Post #4


Uru Visitor
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 15
Joined: 25-January 04
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 806



Ok, I was afraid of this answer.
I actually save now and then, but I didn't check the walkthrough at once, so I have completed another age since this accident.
But on the other hand, I guess replaying what I have done since would not take that much effort :-)

Thanks!
/DT


--------------------
There's no such thing as a final frontier
/LR, Stockholm, Sweden
Click here for the big picture
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post Jun 15 2006, 10:28 PM
Post #5


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



You could always link back to that age and then go back to the beginning and just play the age again like it should be. All the puzzles/items you havent been to should still be there ready for you to figure out.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 4th July 2020 - 11:08 AM