buy antibiotics without prescription
Guild of Greeters   Suitable for Every Age   

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Which Patch(es) To Apply, Confusing patch descriptions
Casey44
post Dec 26 2005, 05:09 PM
Post #1


Uru Visitor
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 10
Joined: 20-October 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,931



I'm re-installing Myst IV Revelation.
From original, official, disks(,out of original box innocent.gif) . Still I get "insert orig disk" or those wordings headbang.gif No scratching to speak of. Are those DVD's known to "age" more than normal?

So, lets first apply the patches...
I find two patches at official site.
1.0 to 1.02 and 1.0 to 1.03.
Which to apply? Both? Or is the second making the first superfluous? But first is much bigger...

Casey
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post Dec 26 2005, 10:32 PM
Post #2


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



Are you getting this error after installation when you try to play, or is this happening when you try to install the game? If when trying to install, I dont think the patch wil help there.

Usually you just want to install the latest patch. This should correct the same things as any previous plus anything additional that was added. most of the time the only exception to this would be if it is stated that a previous patch(s) are needed for one to work. You can find the latest patch for Myst IV HERE.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaDungeon
post Dec 27 2005, 12:29 AM
Post #3


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Retired Greeter
Posts: 2,058
Joined: 15-November 03
From: Tornado Alley -third tornado to the right
Member No.: 146



I managed to install a VERY reluctant Myst IV game . . .
and play through . . .
with no patches at all.

It was a sort of a DaDungeon installation saga . . .
in interpreting obtuse MYST IV install messages . . .
and spurious mysterious Windows messages . . .

which is chronicled in my Install Journal.

I'm not sure how much of the "adventure" was a self-inflicted wound . . .
along the lines of . . .
a kind of installation parallel of . . .
"when all you have is a hammer -- everything looks like a nail" . . .
in which I slavishly "followed update instructions from the Myst IV instructions" . . .

but I did finally get it sorted out . . .
by going back to square one . . .
on the supporting software and hardware drivers on my computer . . .

and . . .

AFTER cleaning up some "stray folder leftovers" debris . . .
Myst IV's Uninstall failed to remove . . .

which required manual removal by me . . .
before re-installing Myst IV . . .

and which was mentioned in passing somewhere . . .
(can't remember where -- maybe it was the "readme.txt"?) . . .
in Myst IV install information
. . .

but ultimately not remembered by me . . .
when I was re-installing the game on my second try.

Once I had my computer back to how it successfully ran Uru and Until Uru . . .
and cleaned out that stray Ubisoft folder . . .

only the "majicke line" for my older Radeon card was needed . . .
to run the game quite nicely.

(The "majicke line" . . .
which I think was also found to be useful for other computer systems . . .
like Macs maybe? . . .
is also chronicled in the Install Journal.)

Like I implied at the beginning of this novel . . .
I used absolutely no patch to complete the version 1 edition of the game.


Maybe something in my Intall Journal might help sort your computer's set of symptoms?


--------------------
The Guild of Doofi Prophetess suddenly displays a strange photo:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CAGrayWolf
post Dec 27 2005, 09:15 PM
Post #4


The Wolfmeister
Group Icon

Group: Retired Greeter
Posts: 6,076
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Riverside CA USA
Member No.: 35



Myst IV does come with an Auto Updater and this can be found in your Myst IV folder (ie: Start > All Programs > Ubisoft (default) > Myst IV - Revelation > Launch the UpdateLauncher

This will automatically update your game to the most current version.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UruBoo
post Dec 27 2005, 09:30 PM
Post #5


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 1,663
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Novo Hamburgo, Brazil
Member No.: 61



I was trying to say that but Wolfie already did... use the Auto Update feature. It's the best way...


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th November 2019 - 03:03 PM