buy antibiotics without prescription
Guild of Greeters   Suitable for Every Age   

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Small Graphic Problem With Uru Complete Chronicles Help!, patches don'T seem to work ....
ikonius
post Aug 29 2006, 08:27 PM
Post #1


Uru Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 3,209



Shorah all smile.gif

Been a while since I posted...

Anyway, here's my problem: I have both the original Uru and Uru CC. I had absolutely no problems playing the original. Even though I bought CC last summer, I 've just now decided to try it out !! . that's the problem when you'Re a workaholic ;g

I am faced with a possible texture ripping problem (you guys tell me...) : white floors, disappearing renderings on walls when I rotate my avatar, etc. No slowness problems, though... I've tried installing the Uru v1.03 patch by Ubi, but since it can't find the aptly named folder, it won't install it. Is there a Uru Complete Chronicles patch out there that would solve this problem for me?

I can't even cross the lit floor puzzle because my floor is all white now ARARRRGHH!! Any help would be greatly appreciated as usual.

See you soon in the Cave once I've finished To D'Ni I mean!

Ikonius.


--------------------
OH freddled Gruntbuggly, stop annoying everyone with Vogon Poetryyyy (or should that be "torturing")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kurtg1265
post Aug 29 2006, 08:33 PM
Post #2


Cactus King
Group Icon

Group: Veteran Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 7,143
Joined: 10-November 03
From: Arizona
Member No.: 93



That does sound alot like video card problems. We could probably help a bit better if you were to post the specs of your machine, you know...... CPU, ram, vid card , sound card, driver versions, etc.......


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikonius
post Aug 29 2006, 08:42 PM
Post #3


Uru Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 3,209



Agreed. But which portion of my dxdiag file would be the most pertinent? It's so large I daren,t post it all here!!

Ikonius


--------------------
OH freddled Gruntbuggly, stop annoying everyone with Vogon Poetryyyy (or should that be "torturing")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikonius
post Aug 29 2006, 09:58 PM
Post #4


Uru Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 3,209



Here are my specs from dxdiag:

Click here to view/hide a spoiler.
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
System Manufacturer: HP Pavilion 061
Processor: AMD Athlon™ Processor, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 512MB RAM
Page File: 293MB used, 957MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Music Tab: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
Network Tab: No problems found.
--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0181&SUBSYS_91701462&REV_A2
Display Memory: 64.0 MB
Current Mode: 800 x 600 (32 bit) (75Hz)
Monitor: Écran Plug-and-Play
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.9131 (English)

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Realtek AC97 Audio
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_006A&SUBSYS_80951043&REV_A1
Manufacturer ID: 65535
Product ID: 65535
Type: WDM
Driver Name: ALCXWDM.SYS
Driver Version: 5.10.0000.5360 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail


I recently updated my video card driver to most recent.

Any ideas?

Ikonius

Moderator Note

put the large portion of the text into the spoiler tags linking.gif



This post has been edited by Ayli: Aug 29 2006, 11:01 PM


--------------------
OH freddled Gruntbuggly, stop annoying everyone with Vogon Poetryyyy (or should that be "torturing")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ayli
post Aug 29 2006, 11:06 PM
Post #5


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Guild Master (GM)
Posts: 8,616
Joined: 14-October 03
From: New York City
Member No.: 7



The white patches in the texture are usually contributed to the newest video drivers. I see that you have quite old video card.

The advise is to go down in version of the drivers (it does sound strange, but that's what it is), unfortunately I forgot the version of these drivers, maybe someone will be able to help you with this.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cleft
post Aug 30 2006, 05:08 AM
Post #6


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Moderator (Mod)
Posts: 1,114
Joined: 20-December 03
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 358



Yes like Kurt and Ayli said, it's probably a issue with your current videocard drivers.
Try installing these older drivers (53.03). You most likely get a warning that you are going to install older driver, but just continue the install.
I've used them with a GeForce 3 card, and Uru runs fine on them smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
William H. Maier
post Aug 30 2006, 06:09 AM
Post #7


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 1,233
Joined: 31-December 04
From: Dana NC
Member No.: 3,168



I had the same problem with my desktop when I first bought it. I replaced the video card with an up grade and the problem went away. smile.gif


--------------------
John 14:6 KJV
"The purpose of life's ride is not to arrive at the grave with a perfectly preserved body.
But to come skidding slightly beat about the head and shoulders in sideways dusty and dirty,yelling,
"Wow! What a ride!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dadguy
post Aug 30 2006, 06:43 AM
Post #8


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 1,000
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Wilmington, DE
Member No.: 28



I had the same problem back when I had an MX440. When I updated the drivers, I got "snow" in my Relto. I reverted to the older driver to fix, and ultimately got a new super video card.

Dadguy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikonius
post Aug 30 2006, 08:40 AM
Post #9


Uru Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 3,209



It worked. thanks everyone!

DadGuy: I had "rust in my desert", "snow in my Relto" (I've shoveled enough snow to last me several lifetimes thus far, so NO SNOW IN RELTO please!), and "bats in my belfrey" (oh sorry, those are Bahro LOL).


--------------------
OH freddled Gruntbuggly, stop annoying everyone with Vogon Poetryyyy (or should that be "torturing")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dadguy
post Aug 30 2006, 03:00 PM
Post #10


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 1,000
Joined: 9-November 03
From: Wilmington, DE
Member No.: 28



Well done, Ikonius. Changing those video drivers can be a scary thing, especially going backward. So, kudos to you for being bold (and ultimately, successful).

Dadguy

This post has been edited by dadguy: Aug 30 2006, 03:00 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikonius
post Aug 30 2006, 04:27 PM
Post #11


Uru Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 3,209



Scary indeed. which proves that "higher" doesn't necessarily mean better.

Depends on what your needs are, I guess...


--------------------
OH freddled Gruntbuggly, stop annoying everyone with Vogon Poetryyyy (or should that be "torturing")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
L'lee
post Aug 30 2006, 04:31 PM
Post #12


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Guild Master (GM)
Posts: 4,374
Joined: 12-February 04
From: DFW Metroplex, Texas
Member No.: 1,084



And around here, we needs our preciousssss URU of course! wink3.gif Glad you got the snow shovelled off the edge of relto and sandblasted the rust out of Cleft!


--------------------
When asked if my cup is half-full or half-empty my response is,
"I am thankful that I have a cup!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ikonius
post Aug 30 2006, 07:43 PM
Post #13


Uru Citizen
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 179
Joined: 8-January 05
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 3,209



Hey L'lee, long time no see!

Yup. things are working fine now. I'm presently twiddling my thumbs waiting for those 625 Uru seconds to pass.....


--------------------
OH freddled Gruntbuggly, stop annoying everyone with Vogon Poetryyyy (or should that be "torturing")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Le'ah
post Apr 14 2008, 05:46 PM
Post #14


Uru Guru
Group Icon

Group: Greeter (Greeter)
Posts: 1,040
Joined: 13-February 04
From: Bay Minette Alabama
Member No.: 1,106



OK..I guess we are all getting desperate for our URU fix...I have fired up CC and am having the above problem with my video card...I have nothing to roll back to nor are there any updates for my card...suggestions?

GeForce2 mx/mx400 driver 6.14.10.9371
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marten
post Apr 14 2008, 06:36 PM
Post #15


Uru Explorer
Group Icon

Group: Explorer
Posts: 103
Joined: 7-August 06
From: Washougal, WA
Member No.: 4,273



The same link posted above should work for that video card. (nVidia cards use a "unified" driver.) Try it!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2019 - 03:23 AM